Extending Visa-on-Arrival Fee Waiver for Citizens of 20 Countries

The Government has approved the extension of the visa-on-arrival fee waiver for citizens of 20 countries until 30 April 2019, as a measure to stimulate and promote tourism, as well as enhancing Thailand’s attractiveness among foreign visitors during the high travel season.


Governor of the Tourism Authority of Thailand (TAT) Yuthasak Supasorn said that the continuation of the stimulus visa-on-arrival measure came at a perfect time as Thailand is set to celebrate Chinese New Year in February and Songkran, the traditional Thai New Year, in April.


Chinese New Year celebrations are huge in Thailand, and this year will mark the 15th anniversary of cooperation between TAT, the Chinese Ministry of Culture, and the Chinese Embassy in organizing annual Lunar New Year festivities in Thailand. Chinese New Year 2019 falls on Tuesday, 5 February.


Mr. Yuthasak said, “This year, the Chinese New Year official opening ceremony will be held at Siam Square, one of the most popular shopping areas in Bangkok. We aim to attract more of the younger generation to enjoy the traditional performances.”


As for the traditional Thai New Year, he said that TAT will continue its strategy to promote Thai traditions and cultural values, the core part of almost all traditional events and festivals in Thailand. It will provide support for the organizing of Songkran celebrations in various destinations throughout the kingdom.


For tourists, Songkran Festival, 13-15 April, offers a chance to enjoy a huge celebration where water parties break out in the streets of Thailand’s towns and villages. For locals, it is a time when they can spend precious moments with their families and visit the temples to observe ancient rites and make merit.


The 20 countries eligible for the visa-on-arrival fee waiver until 30 April include




China including Taiwan,











Papua New Guinea,


San Marino,

Saudi Arabia,


and Uzbekistan.


Citizens of these countries will be exempted from the 2,000-baht visa-on-arrival fee for the purpose of touring in Thailand for not more than 15 days.


Source: The Government Public Relations Department