Farmers urged to stop second rice planting due to drought

Agricultural Promotion Department Director-General Kemkaeng Yutitamdamrong said yesterday (March 10, 2021) that the northern part of the country has faced drought.

Because of the problem, the APD has urged rice farmers in 28 provinces not to plant the second rice crop.

If the farmers plant the second rice crop, they will not have enough water to feed them.

The 14 provinces that will stop planting the second rice crop are Phichit, Phitsanulok, Sukhothai, Chai-nat, Nonthaburi, Pathum Thani, Ayuttaya, Sing Buri, Angthong, Chachoeangsao, Nakhon Nayok, Nakhon Pathom, Samut Sakhon and Suphan Buri.

Fourteen other provinces have been advised to plant crops that need little water. These provinces are Chiang Rai, Nan, Lamphun, Bung Karn, Maha Sarakham, Roi-et, Si Saket, Surin, Ubon Ratchathani, Ratchaburi, Rayong, Sa Kaew, Chumphon, and Surat Thani.