Heavy rain to lash 59 provinces during July 14-18

THE Department of Disaster Prevention and Mitigation has warned 59 provinces across the country to be ready to cope with heavy to very heavy rain during July 14-18, 2017, Thai News Agency said.

Chatrachai Phanomlert, the department’s director-general, said the Thai Meteorological Department pointed to a low pressure cell in the South China Sea which has now moved to the Gulf of Tonkin off north Vietnam and Laos together with a strong southwest monsoon in the Andaman Sea and Thailand as bringing heavy to very rain across the country over the next few days.

Chatrachai warned that the heavy rain might lead to sudden floods and forest runoffs with the downpours starting in the Northeast, East and South first and after that moving to the North and Central regions, the eastern part of the South and Bangkok and surrounding provinces.

Chatrachai has told district disaster prevention and mitigation offices to be ready to cope with heavy rain and that they should issue weather warnings and follow the conditions all 24 hours particularly if the volume of rainfall is 90 millimeters an hour and when water is released from dams.

They were also told to get all necessary equipment ready to help victims in risky areas.

“People in risky areas are warned to be careful of danger from heavy rain and closely follow the weather forecast while also paying close attention to advice on preparing for floods.”

Those in trouble should dial the hotline 1784 all 24 hours to get speedy help.

The 15 Northeast provinces are: Loei, Nong Bua Lamphu, Nong Khai, Udon Thani, Khon Kaen, Bueng Kan, Sakhon Nakhon, Nakhon Phanom, Kalasin, Mukdahan, Maha Sarakham, Roi Et, Yasothorn, Amnat Charoen, and Ubol Ratchathani.

The 14 Central region provinces are: Nakhon Sawan, Uthai Thani, Kanchanaburi, Ratchaburi, Suphanburi, Chai Nat, Lopburi, Sing Buri, Nakhon Pathom, Samut Songkhram, Samut Sakhon, Nonthaburi,  Pathumthani and Bangkok

The seven Eastern provinces are: Nakhon Naiyok, Prachin Buri  Chachoengsao, Chonburi, Rayong, Chanthaburi and Trat.

The 10 Southern provinces are: Petchaburi, Prachuab Khiri Khan, Chumphon, Surat Thani, Ranong, Phang-nga, Phuket, Krabi, Trang and Satun.


Top: Very heavy rain in Chiang Mai’s Fang district. Photo: Sluj78 (CC-BY-SA-2.0)




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *