Eight schools in Rayong shut to prevent spread of Covid-19

Mayor Voravit Suppachokechai has ordered temporary closures of eight municipal schools in the coastal Thai province of Rayong to prevent the spread of Covid-19, the Thai-language daily Thai Rath reported today (July 14, 2020).

These schools are: Satit Thetsabannakhon Rayong, Rayong Wittayakom, Thetsaban Barnpakklong, Thetsaban Wat Paknam, Kotetimtaram Temple School, Wat Lum Municipal School, Nernphra Temple Kindergarten School and Pa Pradoo Temple Kindergarten School.

The preventive measure was taken after a schoolboy’s father, who works in a local hotel, had been in contact with an Egyptian soldier, who was later found to be infected with Covid-19.